History and Timeline

St. Charles Borromeo Parish History Highlights


October 26 – First Masses were celebrated on the Feast of Christ the King. 1,190 people attended Sunday’s liturgies in the Alter High School gymnasium.

November 4 – Monsignor Martin T. Gilligan is installed as the first pastor.
Feast of St. Charles Borromeo

December 2 – First issue of the SPUR (Sunday bulletin): “S”- Sacrifice, “P”-Prayer, “U”- Unity in Christ, “R”- Religion


Rev. Edward Haskamp and Rev. Lawrence Breslin joined St. Charles; Rev. Edward Haskamp served as principal of Alter High School and Rev. Lawrence Breslin served as director of the parish School of Religion for high school.

January – Confraternity of Christian Doctrine (CCD) was started for grade school on Sunday mornings and for high school on Monday evenings at Alter High school.

January 6 – Koffee Klatsch was held in the cafeteria for parents. Jim Wolf first Music Director, assisted by Bea Cartolano

March – First parish census

Spring Groundbreaking and blessing of building for St. Charles church and school


August – First Mass in the original church

September 6 – On the eve of the opening of the Third Session of Vatican Council II, Archbishop Karl J. Alter dedicated the St. Charles church and school building, where Sunday Masses would now be celebrated.

September 8 – St. Charles School opened with Sister Mary Helen, S.C., as principal.

Faculty: Three Sisters of Charity, ten lay teachers for grades 4-8, 505 students enrolled

School Board established


A new addition to St. Charles School: 16 new classrooms and Walsh Hall, where two additional Sunday Masses were celebrated


Sister Marie Timothy S.C. (Sr. JoAnne Termini) was appointed first Director of Religious Education, grades 1-8.

Sr. Catherine Noreen Driscoll, S.C., became principal of St. Charles School (1968-1972).


Sr. Marie Karen Sammons, S.C., became principal of St. Charles School (1972-1990).


Rev. Richard Klug was appointed the second pastor of St. Charles.


Rev. Mr. Leonard Baltes was ordained as the first permanent deacon for the parish.


Renewal process, “Christ Renews His Parish,” began in response to recent revisions in Church Canon Law (1962-1983 directory).


Rev. Monsignor Lawrence Breslin was appointed the third pastor of St. Charles.


Mrs. Penny Horstman became principal of St. Charles School (1990-1996).


October – Official groundbreaking of the present church


March 5 – Dedication of present church was officiated by Most Rev. Daniel E. Pilarczyk, Archbishop of Cincinnati. Procession from original church to present church was followed by a celebration of the first Sunday liturgy in present church held at 5:00 pm

August 22 – Dedication of new Parish Activity Center (PAC)


January – Blessing of new Mother and Child sculpture by artist, Michael Price, took place at all Sunday Masses.


Mrs. Judy Ellerbrock became principal of St. Charles School (1996-2006).


Ted and Lisa Singer became new music directors.


February 23 – Blessing and dedication of the new Reuter Opus 2216 pipe organ was followed by a recital given by Mr. William Fenimor.


April 24 – Rev. Mr. Robert Collins was ordained permanent deacon for St. Charles.

July 1 – Rev. Gerald Haemmerle was appointed the fourth pastor of St. Charles.


Mrs. Fran Moore became principal of St. Charles School (2006-2011).


January 19 – Blessing and dedication of the new crucifix by sculptors Norbert and Victoria Koehn, over five hundred people were in attendance.


April 24 – Rev. Mr. F. William Moore ordained permanent deacon for St. Charles by Archbishop Dennis Schnurr.


Mr. David Bogle became principal of St. Charles School (2011-present).


July 1 – Rev. Daniel Meyer was appointed the fifth pastor of St. Charles.


Fr. Stephen Mondiek was appointed Parochial Vicar.


Christian Cosas became the new Director of Liturgical Music.

A new sound system donated in memory of Bill Ditzel was installed and blessed.

Deacon Tom Miller is appointed to St. Charles.


Fr. Jim Riehle is appointed part-time Parochial Vicar.


Fr. Tim Fahey is appointed part-time Parochial Vicar.


Fr. Dan Meyer retired October 11th.

Fr. Hank Albietz was appointed Parish Administrator on October 11th.


July 1, 2020, Fr. Paul Ruwe was installed as Pastor of St. Charles Borromeo Parish

March 6th Ohio Governor mandates all Ohio Schools to close due to Covid-19. St. Charles school finished out the school year learning virtually.


Jesse Fanning was ordained a Permanent Deacon at St. Charles Borromeo Parish.

On July 1, 2022, Fr. Ed Pratt was installed as Pastor of the Kettering Catholic Community of parishes (St. Charles Borromeo Parish, St. Albert the Great Parish and Ascension Parish).  Joining him was Fr. Tom Nevels, Senior Vicar and Fr. Chibueze Asiegbulem, Parochial Vicar.